Award Season at the Library


By: Kristin Bennett

Director of Library Services



As celebrities walk down the red carpet this awards season the question we should be focusing on isn’t “Who are you wearing”” it’s “What are you reading?”. That’s right, it’s awards season at the library. Every year the Missouri Association of School Libraries (MASL) nominates books for 4 different awards;

Show Me Reader Award- Books for grades 1-3

Mark Twain Reader Award- Books for grades 4-6

Truman Reader Award- Books for grades 6-8

Gateway Reader Award- Books for grades 9-12

The nominee lists include popular titles such as Ninja Red Riding Hood by Corey Rosen Schwartz and The Tooth Fairy Wars by Katie Coombs for the Show Me reader Award, Space Case by Stuart Gibbs and Pack of Dorks by Beth Vrabel for the Mark Twain Reader Award, The Blood Guard by Carter Roy and Midnight Thief by Livia Blackurne for the Truman Reader Award and Red Rising by Pierce Brown and We Were Liars by E. Lockart for the Gateway Readers Award. Students have until March 10th to vote on which books they think should win these prestigious prizes. The winners will be announced at the spring MASL conference March 26-28th.

MASL has also just announced the nominees for the 2017-2018 season. These lists include titles such as Mother Bruce by Ryan Higgins and Trombone Shorty by Troy Andrews for the Show Me Reader Award, Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt and The Worst Class Trip Ever by Dave Barry for the Mark Twain Reader Award, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard and All Fall Down by Ally Carter for the Truman Reader Award and Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tabir and Ruthless by Carolyn Lee Adams for the Gatway Readers Award.

 The Henry County Library will provide multiple copies of each award nominee book so students can get started on their reading list right away. The Henry County Library will also host book clubs for children and teens as part of the summer reading program that will focus on award nominee books.

For more information on these awards as well as a full list of the 2016/2017 nominees and the new 2017/2018 nominees please visit the reader’s award page of the MASL’s web-site: