2016 Caldecott Medal Winner and Honors

The Caldecott Medal is an award that is given by the Association for Library Service to Children, a part of the American Library Association. The medal is presented each year to an illustrator of children's picture books. The illustrator's art must appear in a book published in the United States.

2016 Winner - Finding Winnie: The True Story of The World's Most Famous Bear
Book Author: 
Lindsay Mattick
Book Illustrator: 
Sophie Blackall

 Children will love how this tiny bear makes the journey from the forest of Canada to the pages of Winnie the Pooh.

Honor Book -Trombone Shorty
Book Author: 
Bryan Collier Co-author Bill Taylor

Hailing from the Tremé neighborhood in New Orleans, Troy "Trombone Shorty" Andrews got his nickname by wielding a trombone twice as long as he was high.

Honor Book - Waiting
Book Author: 
Kevin Henkes

An owl, a puppy, a bear, a rabbit, and a pig, all toys arranged on a child's windowsill, wait for marvelous things to happen.

Last Stop on Market Street
Book Author: 
Matt de la Peña
Book Illustrator: 
Christian Robinson

A young boy rides the bus across town with his grandmother and learns to appreciate the beauty in everyday things.

Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamar, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement
Book Author: 
Carole Boston Weatherford
Book Illustrator: 
Ekua Holmes

This book takes a deep look into racial injustice and the extremes that people went to while trying to stop the civil rights movement. Be prepared as a parent to have a deep discussion with your child about these issues.